Chahan-Japanese fried rice

Chahan-Japanese fried rice

All I wanted was to have a good meal in the company of friends and shoot a few photos at the same time. That I got and more. While I started to shoot the ramen image (below) a waitress walked by and told me over my shoulder that I can not shoot their food. Okay, I was a bit taken back by the comment but still proceeded to capture a few more images before digging into the food.

Chasyu ramen-Japanese noodle soup with pork slices

Chasyu ramen-Japanese noodle soup with pork slices

Thing is, I respect and understand their reasons for not allowing photos taken of their food but at the same time I paid for the food and just wanted to capture a moment. Anyway, as you can see, the food were very well presented and tasted great. Especially the thick, flavorful broth of the ramen. I didn’t like the noodles though they were too thick and felt like they belonged in a fast food Chinese restaurant. I would’ve preferred thickness somewhere just a tad more than soba noodles.

Next time, I’ll still order the ramen for the broth with the tasty and generous serving of pork chasyu slices. Oh, the chahan was really good and half way through devouring it the chicken yakitori finally arrived after 20 minutes for 3 sticks. To be fair they were cooking about 40 sticks at the same time and I guess the coal takes awhile to get the chicken going.

I’d share the name and address of the bistro/convenient store style establishment but I would not want you to experience the delirious service of the staff coupled with the lengthy cooking time of the yakitori.

Yakitori-chicken barbeque

Yakitori-chicken barbeque

Then again, I think any ramen/chahan fan will enjoy this place. You can even get something from their convenient store front to go at it during the week. Yes, all Japanese products from candies for the kids to fruits that were had carried from Japan. A beautifully marbled slab of Wagyu beef is available as well for PHP700 per gram. That’s PHP7000, roughly $150 USD, per kilo.