Taking a break from shooting inside the venue. There is always something to be captured.

Taking a break from shooting inside the venue. There is always something to be captured.

Shooting an event is only the initial step in the evolution of an image. Satisfied with the 800++ images captured in the DSLR I head home immediately to upload to my Mac. Once the images are in the computer they all get screened and edited. Good ones get saved for the DVD and bad ones go to delete heaven. Ah, the convenience of modern technology.

However, there are those few images that I would love to post process even further in Photoshop. As a tribute to my Canon EOS 630 (circa 1988/89), the most modern film camera I’ve ever used, I decided to give these images the feel of grainy film from the late 80’s.

During my high school years (that’s like, 20 years ago!!) I took photos for the yearbook committee and there was only film. It was either you got the shot or non at all. No viewing LCD screen behind the SLR (Single Lens Reflex) and all you had was a guesstimate. But those were the days.

Hunched over a guest, I had to politely ask for him to freeze to help me get this shot.

Hunched over a guest, I had to politely ask for him to freeze to help me get this shot.

What a 1st birthday is all about...

What a 1st birthday is all about...

Face towels disguised as cup cakes- a very useful and creative give away.

Face towels disguised as cup cakes- a very useful and creative give away.