The kiddies looking forward to the show...

The kiddies looking forward to the show...

A TV phenomenon taking the world by storm! Except the group has been around since 1999. I wouldn’t have noticed the Hi 5 show if I didn’t have a toddler. Which he watches religiously every weekday morning. Often times requesting Hi 5 by name and interacting with the show’s song and dance numbers. I highly recommend it. Hi 5 is multicultural and does not have any weird characters polluting kid’s subconscious.

The new Hi 5 (new members for 2010), are all from Australia that had a recent meet and greet mall tour in Metro Manila. We attended the one held at the SM North Edsa in Quezon City.

Dressed in bright colorful costumes Hi 5 ran out on the make shift stage while all children were chanting Hi 5 with a rhythmic clapping getting louder and louder. They sang and danced for a better part of half an hour. Entertaining children of all ages but from what I noticed, there were more adults than kids!

The fun begins.

The fun begins.

The whole show was a blur for me. I was running around trying to get a good angle until the song “Happy Monster” came on. It was nice of them to perform that one as it’s my son’s favorite of all the Hi 5 tunes. I lowered my camera and tried to see how my toddler was doing. Sure enough, with all the other kids, they were swinging and dancing to the beat!

Right when they finished their last number the group stepped right on up to the edge of the stage to shake hands with the kids. Good thing my wife was right there to lift my son up to get a high five from Fely Irvine (the girl in red jeans), who’s Filipino/Scottish. Good on ‘ya, kiddo!

Right after the show the group accommodated the first 50 attendees for a photo shoot on stage. We didn’t stick around for that as we were way past the number 50. Maybe next time…

Blaring out the popular Happy Monster tune and my son's favorite part.

Blaring out the popular Happy Monster tune.

Enjoying the show. There were more people than expected.

I am glad the security guards let the unofficial photographers shoot the event.

Capping off the show with their signature Hi 5 pose. A great time was had by all.

Capping off the show with their signature Hi 5 pose. A great time was had by all.