JUST AN UPDATE-MID 2010

I missed the blog post where Mr. Liodden ditched Canon for Nikon. Didn’t really think about searching for a why. Then a few days ago while waiting for my RAW to tiff conversation I just punched it in to Google. This is it…

Where’s my Canon 1D Mark IV field review?
Good question!
There has been less activity on this field review site in 2010. This is due in part to hard work with my Svalbard book project, photo workshops and expeditions. I have also had more problems than expected in getting a Canon 1D Mark IV camera for some serious field testing. For some reason I have not been given priority and the result has been only 3 days in the field with the camera. This is much too short a time to give you a …

I’m not sure I can blame Mr. Liodden for the switch. I am frustrated as it is just finding external Canon battery packs for my flashes. The wait time for it is 3 months after a hefty down payment. Yes, this is Canon Philippines not some third rate camera shop. Go figure-and this is why I just purchase from Canon Taipei-no fuss no frills-just the gear you need.

ANTARCTICA THROUGH OLE JORGEN LIODDEN’S 7D

There aren’t many that tell the tale of really putting a camera through an extreme test or rather most would not likely want to put theirs through one. One such photographer, Ole Jorgen Liodden of Norway, took his Canon 7D and tested it in Antarctica.

For three and a half weeks the camera was put through it’s paces-to say the least. Below are some images from Part 1 of the 7D Field Review Antarctica. The 7D’s weather seals survived the frozen, snowy Christmasy weather.

I always use the 7D with the attached battery grip because it gives me a much better grasp of the camera. Some 5D Mark II users who use the battery grip have reported some problems with water leaking between the camera and battery grip. The battery grip for 7D is new and seems tighter and better sealed. In my case the 7D had absolutely NO problems with snow, rain and water (sea spray). This was just as I had hoped. I’ve also used the 7D on rainy days in Norway, without any problems. The 7D easily passed the rain and wet conditions test. -Ole Jorgen Liodden

Hopefully, the test on image quality will come out as positive as the weather sealing.

Take a closer look at photograph number 2. Notice anything? Here’s a clue, it’s what makes photos instantly a classic!

UPDATE: JANUARY 03, 2010: 7D #2 In the Cold of Winter

Ole Jorgen Liodden has updated the 7D review with AF tracking and quality of both video and photos. The cameras performance is indeed impressive. Soft photos, you say? I think not.

In my last post about the Canon 7D I had predicted that this will be a great camera for event shooters. After reading Mr. Liodden’s reviews, it has convinced me even more of it’s abilities. Reviews out in the field are better than ones with just pixel scrutiny in a controlled environment, ie-studio contrast photos.

But, be warned, cameras with high mega pixels need very good lenses to maximize output of the sensor and dual DIGIC IV processors. Unless the kit lens includes an L or equivalent quality glass you are better off purchasing body only. Then choose a good Canon lens according to shooting requirements. Always remember, photography is about light and the lens determines a good part of the quality of light.

The Canon 7D has absolutely no problems in cold conditions and works as expected. The batteries are really very good, and you can shoot for hours in cold winter weather without recharging the batteries.

Head on over to CFR for the full article.

UPDATE: JANUARY 09, 2010: 7D #3 Autofocus

canon-7d-3-autofocus

Photo from canonfieldreviews.com/canon-7d-3-autofocus/

Part 3: Autofocus, in the detailed series on the Canon 7D by photographer Ole Jorgen Liodden at Canon Field Reviews.

UPDATE: JANUARY 31, 2010: 7D #4 Image Quality

Image quality looks pretty good to me. I believe the Canon 7D is worthy of it’s name as top tier of APSC. Action, event, sports… go for it.

Amazing images from Ole Jorgen Liodden in Part 4.